Key highlights of 75th Independence Day celebrations at Red Fort

Key highlights of 75th Independence Day celebrations at Red Fort

New Delhi: For the first time, this year, as soon as the Prime Minister hoists the National Flag, flower petals will be showered at the venue by two Mi 17 1V helicopters of the Indian Air Force in Amrut Formation.

Captain of the first helicopter will be Wing Commander Baldev Singh Bisht. Wing Commander Nikhil Mehrotra commands the second chopper.

Thirty-two Olympic winners, including javelin thrower Subedar Neeraj Chopra, India’s first-ever Gold Medallist in track and field, and two Sports Authority of India (SAI) officials, have been invited to participate in the celebrations at the Red Fort.

Read: ‘Partition Horrors Remembrance Day’ to be observed on Aug 14, says PM Modi

Around 240 Olympians, support staff and SAI and sports federation officials have also been invited to grace the Gyan Path in front of the Ramparts.

Lt Commander P Priyambada Sahoo will assist the Prime Minister in hoisting the National Flag. It will be synchronised with the 21 Gun Salute fired by the elite 2233 Field Battery (Ceremonial).

The ceremonial battery is commanded by Lt Col Jitendra Singh Mehta, SM. The Gun Position Officer will be Naib Subedar (AIG) Anil Chand.

The National Flag Guard comprising five officers and 130 men from the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Delhi Police, will present Rashtriya Salute at hoisting the National Flag by the Prime Minister. Commander Kuldeep M Neralkar from the Indian Navy will command this Inter-Services Guard and Police Guard.