Bombay boys' future is uncertain in new cabinet

Bombay boys' future is uncertain in new cabinet

Bengaluru: With stage is set for the resignation of Chief Minister B.S.Yediyurappa, soon after he completed two years terms on July 26, party MLAs have started lobbying for Cabinet birth. 

Meanwhile, the future of rebel MLAs of Congress and JD(S), who known as Bombay boys are uncertain in new cabinet. Rebel MLAs are ministers in BSY cabinet after winning BJP symbol in the bye elections. Whether BJP central leadership will entertain them in the new cabinet or not is a big question. They are popularly called as Bombay team, because of their long stay in Bombay while dethroning HDK headed coalition government.

Few MLAs have rushed to Delhi to meet party central leaders, BJP MLA, Aravind Bellad, M.P. Renukacharya were met the party Karnataka in-charge Arun Singh, BJP National secretary (organization) B. L. Santhosh, party national general secretary C.T.Ravi. 

Sitting ministers Jagadish Shettar, Murugesh Nirani and B. Sreeramalu also met party senior leaders, lobbying for the continuation of their ministership in the new cabinet. Mr. Shettar has met Union Minister Rajnath Singh and others, requesting them to consider his name for CM post. 

Following call from party central leaders, Mr. Sreeramalu went to Delhi met party national president J.P. Nadda and Union Home minister Amit Shah. Sources close to party-state leadership that, central leaders have reportedly assured Sreeramalu that he would be promoted in the new cabinet as the deputy chief minister. 

Ten ministers future uncertain 

Interestingly, future of 17 rebel MLAs of Congress and JD(S) who engineered in bringing down H.D.Kumaraswamy coalition government and installed BSY government through operation lotus is uncertain in the cabinet.

Out of 17 MLAs (15-Congress – 2 from JD(S), 12 MLAs had become ministers in BSY cabinet. In which Mr. Jarakiholi and Nagesh has resigned to the cabinet. 

Because of their ‘sacrifices’, B.S, Yedyurappa government came to power in July 2019.  After their win in the bye-elections from BJP ticket, Mr. Yediyurappa has inducted 12 MLAs to his cabinet and given plum portfolio. Later, Mr. Jarakiholi and Nagesh resigned to BSY cabinet. 

Out of 17 defectors, B.C.Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, Byrathi Basavaraj, S.T. Somashekar, Naryangowda, K.Gopalaiah, Dr. K. Sudhakar, Anand Singh, M.T.B. Nagaraj and R. Shankar are ministers in BSY cabinet. 

These ministers have met the Chief Minister B.S.Yediyurappa and reposed faith in him. They insisted him to disclose details of his Delhi meeting on July 17 and 18. They have also expressed their apprehension about their future in new cabinet. Requested BSY to safeguard their interest in new cabinet. Rajarajeshwaringara MLA, Munirathna, waiting to induct into BSY cabinet also met the Chief Minister. 

Read: Karnataka: Yediyurappa to resign on July 26?

Sources said that in new cabinet, out of ten existing minister, only four to five will be retained. Party central leadership likely to retain the ministers, Dr. Sudhakar, S.T. Somashekar, Anand Singh , Gopalaiah and Narayanagowda in new cabinet, sources added. 

The reentry of Mr. Jarakiholi into the new cabinet is most unlikely, since CCB has not yet to clear cases pending against him in sexgate scandal. However, Mr. Jarakiholi is making hectic lobbying at Delhi for his reentry to the cabinet.