Cabinet Reshuffle: Rajeev Chandrashekhar, Karandlaje, Narayana Swamy, Khuba inducted

Cabinet Reshuffle: Rajeev Chandrashekhar, Karandlaje, Narayana Swamy, Khuba inducted

New Delhi: Four Members of Parliament from Karnataka, Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Shobha Karndlaje, A Narayana Swamy, and Bhagwant Khuba were inducted into the Modi cabinet in an oath-taking ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhavan on Wednesday.

Union Chemicals and Fertilizers Minister DV Sadananda Gowda has resigned from Union Council of Ministers, according to reports. Shobha Karandlaje has been inducted in his place. Sadananda Gowda previously served as the Minister of Law and Justice, having been shifted from the Ministry of Railways in the cabinet reshuffle of 5 July 2016.

At the end of the previous Lok Sabha, he was the Minister of Statistics and Program Implementation. He then stepped down from his post of Minister of Chemical and Fertilizers ahead of the cabinet reshuffle.

Read: Shobha ends her self-imposed political exile

Shobha Karndlaje, known as one of the close aid of the Chief Minister B.S.Yediyurappa has maintained a low profile after he became the Chief Minister for the fourth time in 2019. It was said that that the family members of Yediyurappa have successfully kept her away from the power center.

Shobha Karandlaje, Rajeev Chandrasekhar met Prime Minister Modi on Wednesday morning. Karandlaje belongs to the Vokkaliga community and is from coastal Karnataka.

Rajeev Chandrasekhar is a Member of Parliament in the upper house (Rajya Sabha). He is also the National Spokesperson of BJP and was vice-chairman of the Kerala wing of the BJP-led coalition NDA.

A Narayana Swamy, a Dalit leader, represents Chitradurga Lok Sabha seat. Bhagwant Khuba is member of 17th Lok Sabha from Bidar.

Earlier today, Labour Minister Santosh Gangwar and Education Minister Dr Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank resigned from the Union Cabinet ahead of the Cabinet expansion today. Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment Thawar Chand Gehlot resigned on Tuesday.