BSP chief Mayawati will not contest in UP Assembly polls

Ruling BJP and SP have already geared up for elections, however, BSP has yet to start the campaign. BSP chief, Mayawati said that she will finalize the candidates soon

BSP chief Mayawati will not contest in UP Assembly polls

Lucknow: Bahujan Samaj Party chief and Rajya Sabha member Mayawati has announced that she will not contest in upcoming UP Assembly elections, however, she reposed confident that her party will win in the elections.

BSP chief said that BJP will lose in the elections if they contest the polls without misusing government machinery or manipulating voting machinery.

"Fear of the Election Commission is necessary for the government machinery. EC must ensure free and fair elections...BJP will lose this election if they will not misuse government machinery and not manipulate the voting machines," said Mayawati told media persons.

Mayawati has held a high-level meeting with party officials to finalize the party candidates for the elections.

She said that Assembly elections must be conducted peacefully. The people of Uttar Pradesh should vote for development. Our party will follow all guidelines of EC, Mayawati said and added that she will finalize the selection of candidates soon.

It would be a challenge for all political parties to get switch over to a virtual mode of campaigning. The Elections Commission has banned physical rallies, jatha, roadshows, public meeting till January 15.

In the 2017 Assembly elections, BJP won 312 seats. The party has secured a vote share of 39.67 percent vote share in the elections. The Samajwadi party has won 47 seats and BSP won 19, while Congress won 7 seats.