Uttar Pradesh Assembly: Bhim Army Party contest election alone

Talks between Akhilesh Yadav and Chandrashekar Azad have failed, Mr. Yadav has offered only 3 seats to Bhim Army Party, but Mr. Azad has demanded 10 seats.

Uttar Pradesh Assembly: Bhim Army Party contest election alone

Lucknow: Bhim Army chief Chandrashekar Azad declared that his party will not enter an alliance with Samajwadi Party for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly election.

Mr. Azad said that Mr. Akhilesh Yadav does not want the support of Dalits, he said and added that his party will fight elections single-handedly.

It was said that Mr. Azad has demanded 10 seats, but Akhilesh Yadav offered him only 3 seats, thus talks between the two leaders did not materialize.  "Yesterday Akhileshji humiliated us... yesterday Akhileshji humiliated the Bahujan samaj," Chandrashekhar Azad said, a day after meeting the Samajwadi Party chief to discuss seat-sharing.

“I felt  Akhileshji doesn’t want Dalit leaders in this alliance, but he only wants Dalit votes. My fear was that if Dalits vote for him and he forms the government, we won't be able to talk to him about our problems... if we're beaten, if our lands are stolen and our women raped, like Hathras.", Mr. Azad said.

Mr Azad and Mr Yadav were earlier agreed to have a broad agreement in place to contest these polls together, with the Bhim Army chief likely to stand from his stronghold in Saharanpur.

The election scenario is taking twist and turn in  Uttar Pradesh, with powerful OBC leaders joining Samajwadi Party after deserting the ruling bjp. Meanwhile, BJP central leadership has deputed, deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya to talk with party OBC leaders and MLAs not to leave the party. But exodus in the ruling BJP is continued, many more OBC leaders are in the queue to join SP, sources said.

In 2017 the BJP has formed a rainbow alliance to win over the non-Yadav OBC castes, it has given results to the saffron party. OBC and SC leaders of BSP and SP joined the BJP. BJP has won a landslide victory in the 2017 Assembly polls by winning 304 votes.

Elections will be held to Uttar Pradesh Assembly in seven phases from February 10, results will be declared on  March 10.