Second phase polling begins in Uttara Pradesh for 55 seats

Voting has started in Goa and Uttarakhand, Single phase elections held in both the state.

Second phase polling begins in Uttara Pradesh for 55 seats

Delhi: Voting began in 55 constituencies spread across nine districts of Uttar Pradesh and single phase voting in BJP ruled states Goa and Uttarakhand today.

The second phase elections in Uttar Pradesh amid an increasing polarized. Prominent faces, include Dharam Singh Saini, BIP minister in the Yogi Adityananath Cabinet switched to the SP, Azam Khan, SP leader is contesting from Rampur constituency. Saini is contesting from Nakud Aseembly seat. Azam Khan is a member of Lok  Sabha from Rampur, his son Abdullah Azam is contesting from Suar seat. Outgoing minister in the Yogi Adityanath cabinet, Jal Shakti Baldev Singh Aulakh is contesting from Bisalpir. Minister of State for Urban Development Mahesh Chandra Gupta from Badaun, and Minister of State for Secondary Education Gulab Devi from Chandausi.

In 55 Assembly constituencies, BJP had won 38 seats in 2017, the SP had won 15 and the Congress 2 seats. The SP and the Congress had contested 2017 Assembly elections in an alliance.

The second phase elections largely consisting Muslim population, considered as strong hold of Samajawadi Party.

Eight sensitive constituencies across Bijnor, Sambhal and Saharanpur districts.

Fifty-five constituencies spread across nine districts of Uttar Pradesh are voting today, amid an increasingly shrill, polarised campaign. Polling is also being held in two other BJP-ruled states, Goa and Uttarakhand.

Elections in Goa and Uttarakhand: Single phase polling is underway in Goa and Uttarakhand  40 seats of Goa and 70 seats of Uttarakhand decides the fate of ruling BJP. In both states, ruling party is facing anti –incumbency.

Former Chief Minister minister Harish Rawat and state Congress chief Ganesh Godiyal contesting in Uttarakhand.

Aam Aadmi Party led by Arvind Kejriwal is trying luck in both Goa and Uttarakhand.

Goa is a small state with 40 seats, the contest in Goa has drawn the maximum eyeballs after UP. Despite Congress was emerged as single largest party in Goa, BJP has able to form the government by making an alliance with smaller parties.

However this time Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party and Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress are also in fray, with hopes to expand their footprint beyond Delhi and Bengal.

BJP has refused to give ticket to Utpal Parrikar, son of later Manohar Parrikar, now he is contesting as an Independent against BJP candidate Atanasio Moneserrate.

AAP has given many poll promises to Goa voters. It has very much confident to form government in the state. But Goa has history of defections since two decade. Both Congress and AAP has taken oath from the candidates while issuing B form .

Notwithstanding its internal rift in the party, Trinamool Congress is giving tough fight to both ruling BJP and Congress in Goa.