Pushkar Singh Dhami to be new Uttarakhand CM

Pushkar Singh Dhami to be new Uttarakhand CM

Dehradun: Pushkar Singh Dhami to be the new chief minister of Uttarakhand. He is appointed as the 10th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand after Teerath Singh Rawat resigned.

Dhami is a member of the Uttarakhand Legislative Assembly from the Khatima Constituency, in Udham Singh Nagar district.

Speaking to media, Dhami said, "My party has appointed a common worker, son of an ex-serviceman, who was born in Pithoragarh to serve the state. We'll work together for people's welfare. We accept the challenge of serving people with the help of others, in a short time span."


Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and other BJP leaders met at State Headquarters in Dehradun for the Legislative Party meet to elect new Uttarkhand Chief Minister, after Tirath Singh Rawat tendered his resignation from the post on Friday.

A day after resigning, Uttarakhand former chief minister Tirath Singh Rawat said that he is certain that BJP will win 2022 elections.

Meanwhile, veteran Congress leader Harish Rawat said Tirath Singh Rawat's resignation as Uttarakhand Chief Minister due to constitutional compulsion and byelections cannot be held in the state due to COVID is the biggest lie.