BJP fields Priyanka Tibrewal against Mamata Banerjee in Bhabanipur bypoll

BJP fields Priyanka Tibrewal against Mamata Banerjee in Bhabanipur bypoll

Kolkata: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to field Priyanka Tibrewal against West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee in bypoll for Bhabanipur assembly constituency.

Priyanka Tibrewal is Vice-President of Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha (BJYM), West Bengal and an advocate at the Supreme Court & Kolkata High Court. She has worked as a legal counsel for former Union Minister Babul Supriyo. 

Also, she was one of the petitioners in the post-poll violence cases in the Calcutta high court, which ultimately resulted in the court ordering a CBI probe.

Read: Mamata Banerjee files nomination for by-polls to Bhabhanipur seat

"My fight is not against any individual but against injustice. This fight is to save the people of West Bengal. Yes, it is against one particular person (CM) who remained silent during violence in the state," Priyanka said during a press conference after the party announced her candidature.

West Bengal BJP vice president and 24 North Parganas MP Arjun Singh has been made the party in charge of Bhabanipur Assembly bypoll. MPs Saumitra Khan and Jyotirmay Singh Mahato will assist him in the bypoll. Also, eight BJP MLAs have been given charge of eight wards in the constituency.

TMC Minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay who vacated the seat Bhabanipur Assembly seat for Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee will contest in the bypoll for the Khardaha Assembly constituency.

The Election Commission of India has decided to hold bypolls in West Bengal and Odisha on 30th September. Bhabanipur, Samserganj and Jangipur Assembly Constituencies in West Bengal will go to bypolls. Also, bypoll will be held in Pipli Assembly in Odisha on the date. The counting of votes will be held on October 3rd.