Uttar Pradesh: Yogi 2.0 cabinet takes oath

Along with two deputy chief ministers, Keshav Prasad Mourya and Brajesh Pathak, 52 MLAs are taken oath as ministers in Yogi Cabinet in which 18 are cabinet rank.

Uttar Pradesh: Yogi 2.0 cabinet takes oath

Lucknow: Yogi Adityanath takes oath as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the second term. Along with him, 52 MLAs takes oath as ministers into the Yogi 2.0 cabinet. 

Mega oath-taking event held at Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium. Uttar Pradesh Governor Anandiben Patel administered an oath of secrecy to Yogi Adityanath. BJP has registered a historic win in the recently held Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections by winning 255 seats in 403 members Assembly.

Chief Minister has inducted two deputy chief ministers into his cabinet.  Keshav Prasad Mourya and Brajesh Pathak were sworn in as DCMs.

BJP has also rewritten history, the party has come to power for a second term after 37 years in the state.

Before forming a government, Mr Yogi Adityanath held several rounds of meetings with party central leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Delhi last week.

After much deliberation with party central leadership, Yogi has picked 52 MLAs into his cabinet. He has given chance to new faces in the cabinet. 

52 ministers take oath: Along with two deputy chief ministers, Keshav Prasad Mourya and Brajesh Pathak, 52 MLAs have taken oath as ministers in Yogi Cabinet, in which 18 are cabinet ministers. 

Narendra Modi loyalist, A.K. Sharma was inducted into the Yogi cabinet. Five women ministers get a chance to serve as ministers in the Yogi 2.0 cabinet.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Union minister Nitin Gadkari, BJP  National President J.P. Nadda, Madya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivaraj Singh Chouhan, Haryana CM ML Khattar, Himachal Pradesh CM Jairam Thakur, Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai, Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami,  Union Ministers, BJP MPs, and others also present.

Yogi gets two deputies: Keshav Prasad Mourya, Brijesh Pathak takes oath as Deputy Chief Ministers in the Yogi Cabinet. Notwithstanding his defeat in recently held Assembly polls, Yogi has inducted Mourra into his 2.0 cabinet as DCM. Brijesh Patak has replaces Dinesh Sharma, who was deputy cm in the Yogi cabinet. 

Cabinet Ministers: 18 MLAs takes oath as cabinet ministers in the Yogi Cabinet. Suresh Kumar Khanna, Surya Pratap, Sawatantra Dev Singh, Baby Rani Mourya, Laxmi Narayana Chowdari, Jaibir Singh, Dharampal Singh, Nand Gopal Gupta Nandi, Bhupendra Singh Chowdari, Anil Rajbhar, Jitin Prasad who jumped ship from Congress to BJP in 2021 gets ministerial birth in Yogi cabinet), Rakesh Sachan, Aravind Kumar Sharma (Modi loyalist), Yogendra Upadhya,  Ashish Patel (Apna Dal), Dr. Sanjay Nishad. 

Ministers of Independent Charge: Nitin Agrawal,  Kapil Dev Agrawal, Ravindra Jaiswal, Sandeep Singh, Gulab Devi,  Girish Chandra Yadav,  Dharmveer Prajapati, Asim Arun, JPS Rathore, Dayashankar Singh, Narendra Kashyap, Dinesh Pratap Singh,  Arun Kumar Saxena,  Dayashankar Mishra,  

Ministers of State: Mayankeshwar Singh,  Sanjeev Gond, Baldev Singh Olakh,  Ajit Pal.  Jaswant Saini, Ramkesh Nishad,  Manohar Lal Mannu Kori, Sanjay Gangwar, Brijesh Singh, KP Singh,  Suresh Rahi, Somendra Tomar, Anupam Pradhan, Pratibha Shukla, Rakesh Rathore Guru, Rajni Sharma, Satish Sharma,  Danish Azad Ansari and Vijay Laxmi Gautam takes oath as Ministers of state. 

Adityanath was sworn in by Governor Anandiben Patel in a packed with more than 50,000 in attendance.  The monk-turned politician will take the reins of the most populous state for a second time in a row after completing his full five-year term - a feat repeated after 37 years.

During the electoral campaign for the Uttar Pradesh elections, the Prime Minister had praised Yogi Adiyanath's work and his slogan - "UP plus Yogi bahut hai upyogi" (UP plus Yogi is very useful) became quite popular, NDTV reported. 

In a surprise move after the 2017 Assembly elections, the BJP chose Adityanath as the Chief Minister after winning the elections without a Chief Ministerial nominee.

After becoming the Chief Minister of the state, he kept 36 ministries under his direct control, including Home, Economics and Statistics, Sainik Welfare, Home Guard, Personnel and appointment, as well as Civil Defence.

Before being sworn as UP chief minister in 2017, he was Gorakhpur MP for five consecutive terms from 1998 to 2017.