Monsoon session of the Parliament: Joshi calls all-party meeting

Monsoon session of the Parliament: Joshi calls all-party meeting

New Delhi:  Ahead of the monsoon session of the Parliament, Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Pralhad Joshi on Wednesday called for an all-party meeting.

The monsoon session will be held from July 19 to August 13. Mr. Joshi has called meeting with floor leaders of the House at 11 am on July 18, a day before the monsoon session commences.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla has announced the official dates and rules for the Monsoon Session of Parliament. He requested the members and media who have not undergone COVID-19 vaccination have been asked to take the vaccine. However, this year, RT-PCR tests have not been made mandatory. The timings of the monsoon session would be from 11 AM to 6 PM.

This year, Parliament will hold 19 business days. All members and media will be allowed in accordance with COVID rules. The timings of the session will be from 11 am to 6 pm for both Houses, Mr. Om Birla said.

The Centre will place 23 bills for consideration and passing in the Lower House during the monsoon session, the Lok Sabha secretariat said. Out 23 bills, 3 bills will be tabled to replace existing ordinances. In 17 new bills include the Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code (Amendment) Bill, 2021, and the politically contentious Electricity (Amendment) Bill, 2021. Legislation pertaining to the prevention of trafficking and the rehabilitation of victims is also on the agenda.

After the hampering of the Budget and Monsoon sessions in the parliament due to COVID-19 in 2020, 19 business days have been allotted to discuss and passing of important bills.