Andhra Pradesh govt creates 13 new districts

For the smooth administrative purpose and to avoid people travelling long distances to get their work done at government offices, the Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy has created 13 new districts.

Andhra Pradesh govt creates 13 new districts

Amaravathi: Andhra Pradesh government has created 13 districts, with the creation of new districts, the total number of districts have been increased from 13 to 26.

On Tuesday night Chief Minister Y.S.Jaganmohan Reddy Cabinet has accepted the proposals submitted to the secretary of palling GSKR Vijaykumar. The process of creating new districts will be completed by Telugu new year in April.

New districts are, Manyam, Alluri Sithrama Raju, Anakapalli, Kakinada, Kona Seema, Eluru, NTR district, Bapatla, Palnadu, Nadyal, Sri Satyasai district, Annamayya and Sri Balaji districts.

The existing districts are Chittoor, YSR Kadapa, Ananthapuram, Kurnool, SPS Nellore, Prakasam, Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, East Godavari,  West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur and Visakhapatnam districts.

Under section 3(5) of the Andhra Pradesh districts act, new districts have been created for administrative purposes.  After the creation of Telangana state carving out of Andhra Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh has established Amaravathi as the Capital city.  New districts have been carved out based on Parliamentary constituencies of Andhra Pradesh and given new names to a few districts. Sri Kakulam city will be the headquarter of Sri Kakulam district and Vijayanagaram city will be headquartered of Vijayanagara district. From Vijayanagara district, the government has created Manyam district and Paravathipuram will be headquartere of Manyam district.