SP door closed to BJP MLAs, ministers: Akhilesh Yadav

Following opposition from party cadres and leaders, SP chief Akhilesh Yadav has openly announced that no more BJP MLAs and ministers will be given tickets from SP. He said doors are closed to BJP MLAs.

SP door closed to BJP MLAs, ministers: Akhilesh Yadav

Lucknow: After inducting 7 defectors of BJP into the Samajwadi Party, party chief Akhilesh Yadav has that ‘no more room in the party for any BJP MLAs, minster anymore’.

Following severe opposition from party cadres for inducting BJP MLAs, who denied tickets, Mr. Akhilesh Yadav promised to his party workers and leaders that he will not take any BJP MLAs to the party.

"Let me say this... I will not take any BJP MLA (or) minister anymore. They (the BJP) can deny tickets (to their leaders) if they wish to..." Mr Yadav told reporters in Lucknow.

On Friday, 7 bjp former legislators and former ministers, joined the party. Powerful OBC leaders, Swami Prasad Maurya and Dharam Singh Saini to the party.

Apart from Swami Prasad Maurya and Dharam Singh Saini, five BJP MLAs - Roshan Lal Verma, Brijesh Prajapati, Mukesh Verma, Vinay Shakya and Bhagwati Sagar - also joined SP.

Sources stated that many more BJP MLAs are in the queue to join SP. Sources said that the party is likely to deny to few sitting MLAs, thus they have decided to join SP.

"... we are saying now we will not take any more leaders into the Samajwadi Party... We sacrificed a lot to bring people together (but) now there is no scope to take anyone else," Akhilesh Yadav said.

Bhim Army party chief Chandrashekhar Azad had hit out at Mr Yadav saying he "does not want the support of Dalits". Both SP and Bhim Army seat-sharing talks are failed. SP has been reluctant not to give more than three seats to Bhim Army Party.