Priyanka Tibrewal files nominations for bypolls to Bhabanipur seat

Priyanka Tibrewal files nominations for bypolls to Bhabanipur seat

Bhabanipur: Priyanka Tibrewal, BJP candidate for Bhabanipur bypolls, filed nominations on Monday. She will face CM and TMC candidate Mamata Banerjee in the by-poll, scheduled for 30th September.

Ahead of filing of nominations, she urged the voters of Bhabanipur to defeat West Bengal Mamata Banerjee in the bypoll. 

"This is a fight against injustice. This is a fight for justice, for the people of West Bengal. I would like to tell the people of Bhabanipur that they've received a big opportunity, they should come forward and make history," she said. 

Yesterday, she came to pray to Maa Kali Temple, Kalighat, to offer prayers. She said, "My fight is against the party in power that has promoted injustice and violence against public".

Read: Mamata Banerjee files nomination for bypolls to Bhabhanipur seat

West Bengal BJP President Dilip Ghosh in Bhabanipur said, "Mamata Banerjee fought from Nandigram thinking that she would win, but she lost. No one can predict what may happen in politics. Priyanka Tibrewal has led the fight for justice against post-poll violence here [West Bengal]."

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has filed nomination on Friday. The bypoll to Bhabhanipur was announced after TMC Minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay vacated the seat.

In the assembly elections held in May, Mamata Banerjee lost in a cliffhanger in Nandigram to the BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari, her former protege. Suvendu Adhikari was declared the winner by 1,956 votes. Suvendu Adhikari had vowed to quit politics if he didn’t defeat Mamata Banerjee by more than 50,000 votes. Taunting his former mentor, Adhikari had also asked her to be ready with a letterhead that says: “Former chief minister”.