Mamata Banerjee files nomination for bypolls to Bhabhanipur seat

Mamata Banerjee files nomination for bypolls to Bhabhanipur seat

Bhabanipur: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee filed nomination for by-polls to Bhabhanipur assembly constituency on Friday. The bypoll to Bhabhanipur announced after TMC Minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay vacated the seat.

Earlier, BJP and CPI-M have fielded Priyanka Tibrewal and Srijib Biswas respectively against the chief minister.

Taking a dig at Mamata Banerjee, BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal said, "The candidate opposite me (Mamata Banerjee) has lost an election, that's why a by-election is being held in Bhabanipur. They (TMC) had already won Bhabanipur but they don't care for democracy or for what people say".

Read: BJP fields Priyanka Tibrewal against Mamata Banerjee in Bhabanipur bypoll

Mamata Banerjee at the TMC workers’ convention held recently in Chetla, under Bhabanipur constituency, said, ” Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay, who won from Bhabanipur Assembly seat and later resigned, will contest from the Khardaha Assembly constituency. He had resigned for me. He will continue as a minister”.

Also, Mamata Banerjee alleged that she was defeated in the Nandigram Assembly constituency due to the conspiracy hatched by the BJP. "I have to again contest by-poll due to the conspiracy hatched by BJP," she said hinting at her defeat against Suvendu Adhikari in the recently concluded West Bengal elections.

In the assembly elections held in May, Mamata Banerjee lost in a cliffhanger in Nandigram to the BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari, her former protege. Suvendu Adhikari was declared the winner by 1,956 votes. Suvendu Adhikari had vowed to quit politics if he didn’t defeat Mamata Banerjee by more than 50,000 votes. Taunting his former mentor, Adhikari had also asked her to be ready with a letterhead that says: “Former chief minister”.