Ravi Shankar Prasad, Javadekar resign from Modi Cabinet

Ravi Shankar Prasad, Javadekar resign from Modi Cabinet

New Delhi: In a major political development, Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar resigned as Union Ministers hours before the Cabinet reshuffle. Total, 12 members of the Council of Ministers have resigned as per the latest reports.

Currently, Ravi Shankar Prasad was holding the Law and Justice, Electronics and Information Technology and Communications portfolios.

Javadekar served as the Minister of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Minister of Information and Broadcasting, and Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises. Javadekar was elected to the upper house Rajya Sabha as a Member of Parliament from Maharashtra in 2008 and re-elected from Madhya Pradesh in 2014

Read: Cabinet Reshuffle: Here’s list of 43 MPs

According to a communique released by Rashtrapati Bhavan, he President of India accepted resignation of 12 members of the Council of Ministers, including IT Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Environment Minister Prakash Javadekar, Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank.

Other ministers who have tendered their resignation include; DV Sadananda Gowda, Thaawarchand Gehlot, Santosh Kumar Gangwar, Babul Supriyo, Dhotre Sanjay Shamrao, Rattan Lal Kataria, Pratap Chandra Sarangi, and Debasree Chaudhuri.